flashback: dallas in the late 1950’s…

The super-highway (at the time)… U.S. 75, Central Expressway, looking north. The intersection in the foreground is Central and Mockingbird Lane… Note the old Bekins storage building and the Dr. Pepper plant at the right of the picture.

WIDE open.

via The Wide Open Spaces Northeast of Central and Lovers — 1957 — Flashback : Dallas

I’m re-blogging this today from Paula Bosse’s Flashback: Dallas blog (click on the above link), a great blog you should check out, especially if you lived or grew up in Dallas as the city came of age from the 1950s through the 1970s. Her blog is always a fascinating read and I love seeing these old historic photos. My family moved to Dallas in 1960 from Hartford, Connecticut, a couple of months before my 4th birthday; I grew up there during the 1960s and 70s, lived there in the early 80s and much later, off and on, from 2007-2011. Apparently, Dallas is still on my mind somewhat since we visited there last month and that already seems like ages ago.

There’s also a bit of shared history here. I never knew Paula before I started reading her blog. I don’t know how we got on the subject of the house where I used to live in 1984 – had to be from a comment I made on one of her posts, but in the ensuing e-mail exchanges it turned out that same house I lived in back in 1984 – with my “derelict” musician roommates/bandmates (and I include myself in that description) – was the first house she lived in years earlier.

cole_house_thenand1984
The house at the corner of Cole Ave. and Blackburn St., Dallas…

Truly a small world, huh? Be sure and visit her blog here: https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/18367425

Author: nightsonvenus

Musician and producer with the band Nights on Venus.

Leave a Reply

