Thank You For Appointing Me CEO of Spotify: Now a Strategic Plan to Fix the Service.

How to fix Spotify in 4 simple steps…. from David Lowery, reblogged from The Trichordist…

The Trichordist

The music business press has repeatedly criticized artists for not providing a solution for the problems with streaming.  Once you get past the amusing fact that it’s not our job nor are we paid to fix streaming services it does become a useful exercise.  Here is my response. 

I would like to thank the shareholders for appointing me CEO of Spotify. I am honored that you placed such great trust in my ability to navigate us through this difficult time.

I would like to make a few comments on the strategy pursued by my predecessor Daniel Ek.  I do this not to criticize my predecessor but to illustrate how my leadership of this company will vary significantly from his.

1.  Under my predecessor’s leadership Spotify pursued a scorched earth policy towards artists that criticized our company. This has been going on for some time.  In the past Spotify engaged surrogates and proxies to attack…

View original post 571 more words

Author: nightsonvenus

Musician and producer with the band Nights on Venus.

Leave a Reply

