album tracks finalized… off to mastering next month

The album “Perspective” is now a wrap as we have moved into fall and the final mixdown of songs and pre-mastering has begun. Just in time for fall colors…

On our annual fall pilgrimage to see the colors in the high country. This is just below Echo Lake on Hwy. 103, Clear Creek County, Colorado...
On our annual fall pilgrimage to see the colors in the high country. This is just below Echo Lake on Hwy. 103, Clear Creek County, Colorado… Mt. Evans in the distance. Beautiful fall day though a little on the warm side… We headed into Idaho Springs after this and went to Tommyknockers for a couple of Harvest Pumpkin Ales…

fall_colors3It is September 28 and I’m already running late… (albeit a self-imposed deadline). 11 songs on the new one, culled from 18 songs written and recorded; they’ll go off for mastering in about 3-4 weeks.

The set list and sequence order:

1.    Copper Afternoon
2.    Heliotropic
3.    Being, Time, and Place
4.    Summer Madness
5.    La Frontera
6.    New World Create
7.    (A Higher) Perspective
8.    Bliss in Blue
9.    Infinity Pool
10. Impermanence
11. Saturn Return No. 2

fall_colors6Scheduled release date is set for December 21, 2014, the first day of winter… MP3 digital download and CDs.

“Summer Madness” and “Impermanence” were both released as singles this past summer (which now seems like ages ago) and are on “Perspective”. Both can be found currently on iTunes, CD Baby, Amazon, and eMusic. The single version of “Summer Madness” is the one that will be on the album.

The view toward the Continental Divide…


Erin and me...
Erin and me… Sept., 2014

Up until last month I had not heard all of the material together in one sitting. Very different vibe to this album; there are no 8-minute “mini-epics” this time (the longest song, “Heliotropic,” clocks in at 5:27). 9 of the 11 selected tracks feature the piano. Erin – who plays alto sax on the title track – has listened to it a few times now – her impressions: “Less electronic, lots of piano, more jazz-oriented, more moody.” I’d say that’s an accurate description of “Perspective”… more low-key than its predecessor, more reflective.

A couple of tracks will be available as free downloads, pre-release, sometime in November on the NoV page on ReverbNation. More details to come…

Just south of the town of Empire...
Just south of the town of Empire… Clear Creek County, Colorado.
"Summer Madness" - MP3 single, May, 2014
“Summer Madness” – MP3 single, May, 2014
The single "Impermanence"... to be released on 7/17
The single “Impermanence”… released on 7/17/14

The singles, “Summer Madness,” and “Impermanence” from Nights on Venus are both available as MP3 digital downloads on CD Baby, iTunes, Amazon MP3, eMusic, and the NoV website as are all full-length albums.

Nights on Venus - the debut album (2011)
Nights on Venus – the debut album (2011)
"Another Day in Paradox" - 2013
“Another Day in Paradox” – 2013

Follow Craig and Nights on Venus on Twitter (@xlntsky) and Facebook.

"In 4 the Evening," the new album (no. 2)...
“In 4 the Evening,” the new album (no. 2)… 2012


Author: nightsonvenus

Musician and producer with the band Nights on Venus.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s