back to the heat…

No, not the basketball team… a little over a month since the Dallas Mavericks dispatched them in Game 6 of the Finals to wrap up their first NBA championship, they seem like ancient history. No, it’s back to the unrelenting heat of North Texas after almost three weeks spent in Colorado; I did not want to come back and seriously thought about staying put up there until October… or longer.

I’ve never been a fan of hot weather as far back as I can remember and that’s putting it mildly, particularly after spending enough time someplace else when I was growing up where the temps didn’t reach triple digits every day. Like the mountains. Summer is my least favorite season of the year, unless I can spend it above 7,000 feet and then it feels more “sane”. Especially after having enjoyed the classic Front Range weather pattern every day for the last week-and-a-half: the clouds build up and roll over the mountains by late morning/early afternoon after it gets warm enough, then a few hours later you have a good thunderstorm – sometimes a dramatic one – to cool things down and wash the air clean. And who doesn’t love a good thunderstorm, provided of course, it doesn’t come with a tornado or two?

So, as North Texas faces another 100+ degree weather day with no rain in sight – reminiscent of that one summer some 30 years ago where we had 69 days of over 100-degree heat – I’m missing those thunderstorms right now. And thinking cool thoughts. A few pics from an afternoon spent on the balcony at the Little Bear in Evergreen during a thunderstorm…

Downtown Evergreen, CO from the balcony at the Little Bear
Beautiful rain...

Texas could use a few of these thunderstorms now… muy pronto. We are in bad need of rain. I don’t think we’ve had any down here since back when the Mavericks began playing the Heat, sometime around Memorial Day. Bad things happen when you don’t get rain, like wildfires (we’ve had those this year) and crop failures. A friend was telling me that the cotton plants are having trouble pushing up through the hard, crusty soil. Sounds very Dust Bowl-ish. Here’s hoping we get some rain very, very soon… (this is starting to remind me of Phil’s ominous weather forecast in “Groundhog Day”, modified for current conditions: “It’s going to be hot, it’s going to be sunny, and it’s going to last you the rest of your life…”).

Independence and Bear Mountain, Evergreen, CO
Back in Golden, after the storm
And a parting shot before leaving to come back to Texas... Maxx kitty: "For the love of God.... these humans and their cameras!"

The recently released Nights on Venus debut album is now available as a digital download (MP3 album) on CDBaby, iTunes, Amazon.mp3, eMusic, and other fine online retailers…

New music coming soon – now that I’m back in Big D, probably next week. And summer “vacation” appears to be over. Bummer, dude. Until then, as a friend of mine likes to say on her Facebook posts: “Stay cool, babies!” … wherever you may be.

Author: nightsonvenus

Musician and producer with the band Nights on Venus.

15 thoughts on “back to the heat…”

  1. Hullo, an awesome blogpost dude. Thankx for sharing! But I’m experiencing problem with your RSS . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone else facing same RSS feed issue? Anybody who can assist please respond. Thanks!

  2. It’s rare for me to find something on the cyberspace that is as entertaining and fascinating as what you have got here. Your page is lovely, your graphics are outstanding, and what’s more, you use reference that are relevant to what you’re saying. You are certainly one in a million, good job!

  3. Thank you for sharing excellent informations. Your website is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you’ve on this blog. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a great web site.

  4. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very great article.

  5. Nice read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he actually bought me lunch since I found it for him smile Thus let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch! “We strain to renew our capacity for wonder, to shock ourselves into astonishment once again.” by Shana Alexander.

Leave a Reply

