new song… “nights from a rooftop”

“nights from a [dallas] rooftop”

Well, a new ‘old’ song… Originally titled “Nights From a Dallas Rooftop“, this is unofficially the first Nights on Venus song – recorded back in May, 2010 – that began the NoV saga before I was calling it NoV. “Nights…” is now available for purchase at the NoV store on ReverbNation.

They said it couldn’t be done, but ‘we’ broke the 5-minute barrier! [Not quite the milestone it would be if I were running a mile and not that I care too much about the running times of these songs.] In its original version “Nights…” was about a minute longer… when I revisited it, I took out the intro and added a brief sax part at the end.  I’m not sure yet if this will be going on the album. It’s either an advance track from it or a standalone (a B-side?). As projected currently, the album has some symmetry to it – this song recorded in Dallas before I left, 7 in Denver and one since I’ve been back – but it will depend on how it fits with the other material and “Nights…” may end up being ‘odd man out’ – a bit of an anomaly based on what I’m doing now and where I think I’m heading with this. I did want to get a finished version of it before it ended up going to the ‘back catalog’. I’ve got a ton of songs there from over the years (which so far I haven’t raided and I’m not planning on it) – songs that just didn’t get recorded in the studio because I was too broke or that didn’t get ‘out there’ because I ran out of money halfway through recording an album and then you look up and it’s 2 years down the road and you just have to move on. I figure unreleased songs have a shelf-life of maybe about a year to a year-and-a-half – if even that in these accelerated days… but it depends on the song, and now at least we have digital distribution on the Internet. Still, I don’t plan on raiding my back catalog anytime soon to get that definitive studio recording of “Psychic Weekend” (from the infamous Texans Without Cattle days, c. 1986-’87… yeah, I’ve been at this a while).

Update: As of tonight (3/22) The Todd Rundgren Fan Family Compassion Fund at www.shiningstill.com has raised approximately $6,400 for our friends in Japan who have suffered the earthquakes and tsunami of March 2011 and are now dealing with not only the aftermath of destruction and loss of life but also the continuing threat of radiation. Visit the site for more info and/or to donate… http://vimeo.com/21082400. The goal is to raise at least $10,000. Also visit the American Red Cross to donate to continuing disaster relief efforts in Japan.

Author: nightsonvenus

Musician and producer with the band Nights on Venus.

Leave a Reply

